MechMate CNC Router Forum

MechMate CNC Router Forum (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/index.php)
-   Driving Mechanisms: Rack/pinion, gears, screws, belts & chains (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Rack length problem (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3153)

buuk Thu 11 November 2010 05:31

Rack length problem
 
Hi there,

I am new to this forum and planning to start building a MechMate in the next few months. Right now I am trying to understand the contruction from the images and looking at the parts necessary.

As my machine will be 3 meter in length (effective length about 2.4 meter needed) I was wondering if it will be a problem to connect multiple pieces of rack to obtain this length. As most suppliers only sell up to 2 meter in length for the module 1 - 15x15mm rack.

How are you people solving this.

Thanks a lot for your kind reply.

Buuk

domino11 Thu 11 November 2010 08:18

Try this thread.

Welding rack sections together

There are other pictures in other peoples build threads but I cannot seem to find them at the moment. :)

smreish Thu 11 November 2010 08:42

Buuk,
If your really good with your setup with the adhesive tape, you don't need to weld it at all......many just put the splice piece in place while attaching to tape and leave it!

All very easy - so purchase what is affordable

jwt Thu 11 November 2010 12:23

I've just welded up my racks today, joining a 2m to a 1m length.

Straight forward, just chamfer the ends so you get a good root weld.

I'm using linear rails so I had to drill mine every 300mm on the sides to mount it to the main beam and the weld held through that kind of abuse. (yeah I know, I should have drilled it first. :D )

John


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 21:35.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.