MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Sat 29 March 2014, 17:35
malikminus
Just call me: malik

San Luis Obispo (CA)
United States of America
Hello From San luis obispo, CA

Hi everyone,

It has been my utmost desire to build a commercial level Cnc router but life never allowed me, for the first time I am ready to get on this project blazing. I am an Electrical Engineer but almost have no experience with iron or woodworking. But I am willing to get my hands dirty. I had a couple of questions for your guys,
1) What is the total cost for making a MechMate.
2) Can everything be made from your home garage or would you need to get parts made?

Thanks in advance everybody,
Malik

P.S. my dream is to get congratulated by you guys after making one of these.
Old Sun 30 March 2014, 07:14
darren salyer
Just call me: Darren #101

Wentzville mo
United States of America
Total cost depends on how you build it.
Size, toolhead, motors, all factor into the cost, just like when buying a car, options add up.
Having said that, I think most are in the 4.5-6k range, although I'm seeing slightly higher prices for parts for my second one.
Any parts that must be fabbed needing more than a home shop equipment list are available from suppliers or vendors.
Most take from 6 months to a year of part time work to complete.
Spending a few hours (or days) looking around the forum will be time well spent.

Good Luck!!
Old Sun 30 March 2014, 14:38
MetalHead
Just call me: Mike

Columbiana AL
United States of America
Welcome aboard!!,
Old Sun 30 March 2014, 21:16
malikminus

San Luis Obispo (CA)
United States of America