MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Archives
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old Tue 02 January 2007, 19:44
dneisler
Just call me:

Starting MechMate build planning - a broad question on performance specs.

This thread started by ART RANSOM:

I am Art Ransom located near Dallas, TX, USA. After retirement as a network engineer I started my business TurningARound doing custom and architectural woodturning. Business has grown where the Legacy Ornamental Mill was not a satisfactory solution for my needs so I began looking for an alternative. Commercial machines began at 100K and not feasible for a one-man shop with NO intention of growing. This led to building my own 4-axis mill running Mach3. Unfortunately I didn’t discover MechMate until I was 95% complete with my DIY machine. Progress on my mill can be seen at http://turningaround.org/4_axis_mill.htm. Comments welcome. Plans are to finish my mill and get it into production then after a few months start on a MechMate. As a side issue the local high school is talking to me about becoming a part time instructor in building a CNC course, which is another barrel of snakes on which I may be asking your help.
I have been wading through the forum and it is like trying to drink from a fire hose. My mill will have to have modifications, as I need to be able to route 4’ by 8’ sheets and turn/mill 24” by 12’ columns. Here are my questions so far.
1. What is the repeatability/accuracy?
2. Apparently there are no problems with only using one stepper motor to drive the Y carriage and it is direct drive. What size is needed for a 200 lb carriage?
3. It appears that the Z is also direct drive rack and pinion. An idea I like but was told it was a no-no. This is am immediate concern, as I would like to use it in the new gantry I am building.

For the type of work I am doing see www.turningaround.org

Then Donald replied

Art,