MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Tue 02 February 2010, 18:50
ACFerguson
Just call me: Tony

White Lake
Canada
Canadian User Joining Group

I have no experience with CNC.

I teach machine shop at a high school, but we've no CNC equipment and I've never learned.

I have solid welding skills and own a 1600 square foot woodworking shop.

I figure I have the requisit starting skills to learn wbout CNC.

I want to build a 3-axis CNC router. Additionally, I own a 14x40 metal lathe and a 9x40 milling machine. I also want to add CNC capability to my milling machine (and perhaps the lathe). But, the CNC router seems to be a simple project that might serve me best to get my feet wet with.

I would enjoy hearing from you as to your thoughts on my ideas, and feel free to tell me if my thoughts on all of this are "loco".

Looking forward to your replies

Tony
Old Tue 02 February 2010, 20:10
sailfl
Just call me: Nils #12

Winter Park, FL
United States of America
Tony,

Sounds as though you are ahead of the game than most. I am a software guy and had no experience with CNC. You will do fine.
Old Tue 02 February 2010, 21:08
domino11
Just call me: Heath

Cornwall, Ontario
Canada
Welcome Tony. Another fellow Canadian!
Old Tue 02 February 2010, 22:31
Gerald D
Just call me: Gerald (retired)

Cape Town
South Africa
Hi Tony. I see that you are from White Lake . . . . . . but all your lakes are white now?
Old Tue 02 February 2010, 23:58
domino11

Cornwall, Ontario
Canada
And some are solid.
Old Wed 03 February 2010, 16:40
ACFerguson

White Lake
Canada
LOL, yes, most of our lakes would indeed be quite "white" and solid right now. Although, mine is still "White" in the middle of summer! I guess that makes it the best one!

Glad to see that other canuks are on this forum!