MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Sat 20 February 2010, 23:49
mrghm
Just call me: Gareth

Syd
Australia
starting to build this week

after being a member on this forum since may 09 and visiting every day, i have now decide to take the big step and start to build.

my background is i run a construction company doing interiors and carpentry we have our own dry wall guys, carpenters and joiners. we have always sent out our cabinet work and done only solid timber in our factory.

i am building this machines just for the sake of doing it hopeful it will prove usefully for us as a bonus.

my factory is around 4500 sf and is almost full that is why i am only going to build a machine to take 3x1.8mt sheets, we use mostly 2700 long sheets as office fit outs all doors and revels are 2700mm.

i am a bit stressed about the kitchen table project but with everyone out there on this site plus help of one of my mates it should be ok,

the table will be fully welded, the legs will be 90x90x3mm SHS with 90x40x3 RHS for the base frame and 200PFC main rails.

from what i have read for a table to machine 3050 my main beams will be just under 3700 and for 1800 it will be 2300mm.

i have a fair bit of steel in my factory left over from a job so this is going to be no issue.

as far as tools go my place is well set up, with have a magnetic drill & drill press, stick welder (may upgrade as its a pain in the butt when it over heats) Makita metal circular saw both cordless and 240v and dewalt steel cut off saw.

i plan on cutting the rails down with the makita saw with guide, then have my local saw sharpener grind the rails for me (as done by others before the skate was developed) depending on cost, as its not my idea of fun to use an angle grinder for a couple of days straight.