MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > MechMates already cutting
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Sun 13 June 2010, 19:07
digger
Just call me: Milosh #113

Toronto
Canada
BAM!!! Build Complete #113 - Toronto Canada

It is time to open a curtains and to step up in front of the great MM community and say one big HELLO. (Robert thanks for that suggestion).

I remember days when old forum existed lurking here for a long time. First as many others I had to decide, should I buy or build one. I am electronic technician by trade, so, electronics is not a problem, but welding and mechanical work. From the other side it is a challenge for me, and good excuse to buy new tools, and learn something new. Between buying new machine or to build it myself, there was no doubt what to do. No money for new one. Size? What should be the size? Where to keep MM? My initial idea was to build 4x4' cutting size and keep it in a basement. There is no room for bigger one. In the meantime, we decided to do a major renovation which will take a place next year. Till then, I can do some steel work, because, when winter come, there is no work outside.

From the time I decided to build it I collected electronics, steppers, laser parts... Laser parts (ordered from US) are done from first published plans for MM, not Mamba MM. Regarding that I have some questions: I know I can follow the drawings for old MM from beginning to the end, but if Mamba is improved and there is no problem to change some dimensions, why not improve it. Now, I am doing railing for gantry. In old MM rails are 23mm but in Mamba model they are 28mm (M1 10 110). Should I cut angles at 28mm or follow old drawing and cut it at 23mm?

Gerald, thanks for great plans, thanks for making MM be live around the world and for gathering great people around MM.

Milosh
Old Mon 14 June 2010, 03:55
Robert M
Just call me: Robert