MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Today's Posts

Old Thu 09 February 2012, 19:45
cpdenco
Just call me: Chris

Hudson, MI
United States of America
New Member - Hudson, MI

Hi everyone,

My name is Chris I'm 27, I live in Hudson, MI. I'm a diesel technician sat.-mon. and I run a laser engraving business tues-fri., I'm looking to expand my business. I've been wanting to get a cnc router for sometime now, I'm looking at building a MM 5'x10'. Some of my current clients would like me to make some HDPE (high density polyethelyne) signs and wooden state shape plaques. Honestly, I'm a little overhelmed right now in reading all the threads, what to use what not to use. I have read alot of Gerlad_D's posts (very informative). Any and ALL information will be GREATLY Appreciated.
Old Thu 09 February 2012, 21:40
MetalHead
Just call me: Mike

Columbiana AL
United States of America
Welcome to the forum. Read a lot and get a set of plans to review over your beverage of choice, read some more and .. oh yeah read !!! Welcome to the forum and enjoy your build !!!
Old Fri 10 February 2012, 03:55
sailfl
Just call me: Nils #12

Winter Park, FL
United States of America
Chris,

Welcome.

Find a couple builders that have completed their machines and run their threads from start to finish. If it is possible, go visit one of the MM in your area or near by. Though you have experience with CNC it will make a difference.

Good luck.
Old Fri 10 February 2012, 13:52
domino11
Just call me: Heath

Cornwall, Ontario
Canada
Welcome Chris!
Old Fri 10 February 2012, 15:12
cpdenco

Hudson, MI
United States of America
Nils,

Thank you for the welcome and advise on finding someone in my area. It will be very helpful for me to go and be able to look at one in person, pick up on the details that you can't always see online.

Heath,

Thank you for the welcome.