MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Construction started, but not cutting yet
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Mon 03 August 2009, 04:09
Besser
Just call me: Besser

Vic
Australia
Construction has started - Melbourne, AU

OK, I'm a Newbie! Yes I want a MechMate, if I know whats best fro me I better start the call for help NOW!

Mech Eng background

Currently building a mini MM 600mmX900mm to get my eye in.

If you like advising people and/or live in Melbourne then drop me a line.
Old Mon 03 August 2009, 08:20
Doug_Ford
Just call me: Doug #3

Conway (Arkansas)
United States of America
Wecome aboard Besser.
Old Mon 03 August 2009, 08:45
domino11
Just call me: Heath

Cornwall, Ontario
Canada
Welcome Besser!
Old Thu 06 August 2009, 06:23
Besser

Vic
Australia
Amazing community spirit

Hi all, I have been amazed by the support from the MM community so far. In Oz I was thinking I'd be scratching for info and supply lines, not so!

Within 2-3days I have been directed to the local suppliers that have and correctly price many MM parts.

Today I was talking to a local Chris who is looking at 4m lengths of rack.

I may have to apologise to Gerald for not having to weld the stuff (quiet sigh of relief) when my time comes.
Old Thu 06 August 2009, 09:47
Gerald D
Just call me: Gerald (retired)

Cape Town
South Africa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Besser View Post
I may have to apologise to Gerald for not having to weld the stuff (quiet sigh of relief) when my time comes.
Psst, I will let you into a little secret . . . . .
On our latest tables we havn't welded the racks together - we just just left a gap! And of course the pinion doesn't know the difference.
Old Thu 06 August 2009, 09:50
domino11

Cornwall, Ontario
Canada
Gerald,
I thought you steel guys just welded everything? Although getting the racks in the exact lengths you need would be great too.