MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Common Assemblies & Parts > Motors & their mountings
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Mon 07 January 2008, 09:20
Viperia
Just call me: Tom

Trollhättan
Sweden
All Motion Motors what do you think?

Hello,

Im in the process of building a MechMate Mamba and currently waiting for my laser cut parts to be done and shipped. So when im waiting im looking around for things that i will be needed to buy and since motors is going to be needed and they can get quite expensive i tought it would be a good starting point since i may need to save money a while to afford em.

My build will be a budget build since im a student and dont have unlimited money to put in to my hobby project. Will use the machine to do some small things like cutting out forms for molding things for cars etc.

Well over to the motors now shall we? All Motion is a swedish company (im from sweden if you wonder) that makes their own motors but also sells motors of the brand Sanyo Denki which are an Japanese manufacturer. I know quite many people that use the All Motion´s own brand of steppers but only their smaller motors and they use them on small cnc routers but they also have a range of bigger motors i have been looking on 3 different motors and now i would like to get some input and thoughts about them and if they will fit the bill.

As for quality on the motors i have heard nothing but good, as i said i know quite a few here in sweden that run these motors on smaller cnc routers and other projects with no trouble at all and ofcourse i have 1 year of warranty on them or it may even be 2 years.

The motors are the following: 60STH88 for around 110 USD, 60STH100 for around 150 USD and the 86STH80 for 220 USD.

60STH88 Specs:
Holdingtorque: 3.10 Nm = 440 oz/in.
Step angle: 1.8°.
Rated phase current: 2.5A.
Weight: 1400g

60STH100 Specs:
Holdingtorque: 3.6 Nm = xx oz/in.