MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Sun 14 October 2012, 17:11
Nipels
Just call me: Rob

Warminster
United States of America
Hey everyone! Complete noobie here!

Hi, my name is Robert Hawthorne, and I am 26 years old, I am from Pennsylvania. I am a complete noob to CNC routers, although I have always taken pleasure in obscure little projects, and think this would enhance all of them. I would love to have the ability to custom machine plastics, wood, and some aluminum for my little projects. I am a crane operator, and for the past few months have been building a remote control friction crane with small electrical clutches and mechanical brakes. This project has completely highlighted my utter lack of fabricating tools/machines. I have had to design the crane in such a way that I can build it with basic tools. It has made it larger than it has to be and a lot heavier. Well, enough of that.

So I would like to have a machine with a cutting area of 2'x2'. I am not sure on the vertical axis, but the more the better. I would like to be able to cut plastics, carbon fiber, wood of all kinds, and "some" aluminum. I am not worried about cutting speed or "rapids"? I am looking at a budget at around 3000$-3500$. I have a desktop computer I plan on using for the router, but other than that I am completely empty handed.

I want to have a complete plan that I am all but certain will work before I begin ordering parts and building. I am open to any and all contributions and suggestions. I will be checking this post daily and posting more questions regularly. Thanks for reading and I appreciate everything.
Old Sun 14 October 2012, 18:33
MetalHead
Just call me: Mike

Columbiana AL
United States of America
Welcome to the forum. THe MechMate is really to big of a platform for 2x2.