MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Common Assemblies & Parts > Rails & Rollers
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Tue 16 October 2007, 06:05
joepardy
Just call me: Joe

Lebanon, OH
United States of America
Round shafts & ball slide blocks versus V-rails & V-wheels

I am new at this but ... what is the advantage/disadvantage to using Rails, Wheels, & Rack system instead of Shafts, Bearing blocks and a Lead Screw?
Old Tue 16 October 2007, 06:39
Gerald D
Just call me: Gerald (retired)

Cape Town
South Africa
Price, low maintenance (self-cleaning). Good, simple, stupid, robust technology completely suitable for woodwork. The sawdust gets in, but it works out by itself again. No jams or binding due to lack of maintenance. Did I mention low-cost?

Some will argue that the "precision" with linear bearings and ball-screws is better. Maybe it is, but a couple of wipes with sandpaper is the great leveller for woodwork. The difference in "precision" is not worth the extra cost and lower reliability for a woodshop, IMHO. (I personally havn't seen the supposedly better quality from the more precise systems, but then I have only seen 3 other CNC Router's work).
Old Tue 16 October 2007, 06:47
smreish
Just call me: Sean - #5, 28, 58 and others

Orlando, Florida
United States of America
Joe,
There are many "school's of design" when it comes to linear "guidance" systems. My background is in machine automation design and fabrication, thus each use has it's pro's and con's -
Usually, weighing the difference between cost, reliability and serviceability.

Ideally, the Mechmate has found a way of using a inexpensive, easy to maintain and low cost method of achieving all three - with common "layman's " shop tools. It's a philosophy that I had the privilege of being mentored in during graduate school. KISS....keep is simple.