MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Wed 05 May 2010, 14:30
Shanker
Just call me: Rick

Red Deer
Canada
Hello From Red Deer, Alberta Canada !!

Hello all!! I've been lurking for about a two months and doing as much reading as possible. This machine has taken over my life!! I can honestly say that from the time I saw this machine, I cleraly new in my mind that I was going to build her! She's a beauty!!

I'm a machinist by trade but I have no cnc experience. I have made a life change and last year I decided to go back to school full time to pursure a Bach. of Education degree and become a teacher. After my first year my wife was not enjoying living on a students salary...so I went out looking for work. My goal was to continue to pursue my B of Ed after hours and weekends. Oh, I guess I should mention that I am 46 years old. The transition to student was much easier for me than for my wife. She was a trouper. Now I'm working full time for the College in the trades area, and they are allowing me to continue with my pursuit of a degree. I feel that I have the best of both worlds. In my new working enviornment we purchased a General CNC router that I have spent a lot of time on trying to get running. I have since become hooked on these machines and that is how I came across this oassis of a site.