MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Today's Posts

Old Wed 28 August 2013, 08:06
sclark309d
Just call me: Steve

North Bend, Wa
United States of America
Just starting out

Hi all:
Another noob here.

My name is Steve, and I live in the United States, outside Seattle, Wa.

Let me quickly describe how I got here. Several weeks ago I ran across an article on something called a WikiHouse http://www.wikihouse.cc/

I found the concept intriguing. I'm 56, starting over, and looking down the road to retirement wondering how I'd be able to secure housing I wasn't renting or paying rent on the rest of my life. The WikiHouse concept might put that in reach.

In reading about the WikiHouse I found that it was constructed from parts cut from plywood on a CNC machine, so..... I started to look for a local source that could do my cutting. Having failed to locate that source I started to look for CNC machines to buy, which is how I came across MechMate and this forum.

My I started reading post on the forum, and the first thing I ran across is that the MechMate is suited for metric dimensioned material.

Will I run into problems here in the US?
Old Wed 28 August 2013, 09:37
jhiggins7
Just call me: John #26

Hebron, Ohio
United States of America
No problem working in inches. MACH3 (soon to be MACH4), which is the software most of us use to drive the MechMate works in metric or inches. When you set-up MACH3 you'll choose to work in inches. Many of the MechMate builders (there are well over 100) are US based.

Read...read...read.
Old Wed 28 August 2013, 10:10
sclark309d

North Bend, Wa
United States of America
Thank you for the reply - I'm reading as fast as I can. The volume of information is a little overwhelming at the moment.