MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Mon 19 May 2014, 15:17
cncnewb
Just call me: Gabe

Atlanta
United States of America
Considering MM for sheets goods in GA

Hi all. I want to thank everyone here for their contributions, I have enjoyed reading them these past few days. This is more a less a x-post of a thread I made at CNCZone under a different handle, so if it looks familiar that may be why.

I am a residential contractor of sorts and have been contemplating a CNC wood router build that will be used primarily for sheet goods. Mostly .75" melamine and plywood. (Cabinets, closets, etc.) As such I need to be able to have a y-axis working envelope 60" or greater to accommodate both 5 x 5 and 4 x 8 stock. While I don't expect to replicate an Onsrud, this is not a hobby machine. It may only run a few hours a week, but it needs to be capable of processing a decent number of sheets daily if need be. (30ish, maybe 40??) Based on my research thus far I have the following requirements: (Which are probably all wrong!)

1.) It must be able to consistently and accurately make clean cuts in a nested routing application. (more on this later)
2.) Vacuum hold down system
3.) Pneumatic pins for positioning
4.) Air drill for boring as I anticipate having a single spindle w/o ATC capabilities
5.) AORN I am planning on a 3kw chinese spindle (water cooled?) with a good VFD (Hitachi?)
6.) My understanding is cutting speed affects tool life and it certainly affects the bottom line, so I want something that can cut decently fast and clean.
7.) Budget: Under 10k is the goal, but I have an additional 5k in the budget. (That I would rather not spend!)

I realize some of these are upgrades to the standard MM design, but I am pretty sure I have seen all of them implemented on way or another on MM on this board.