MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > MechMates already cutting
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Tue 22 April 2014, 07:29
Drexel
Just call me: John

Rose Hill, Kansas
United States of America
Still plugging away - Rose Hill, KS

Have been thinking about a CNC machine for a long time. It just seemed to be such an overwhelming project that I kept putting it off.
Unlike many on the MechMate forum I have no experience in anything it takes to build a MechMate except a bit of welding (I’m not a welder but I can get two pieces of steel to stick together).
I had a set of plans that I had downloaded years ago for another CNC machine but after looking at the MechMate and lurking around the forum for awhile I erased those plans from my computer, bought a set of MechMate plans from Mike and 700# of steel from a local supplier. My plan is to build a 4x8 so I can work with standard size plywoods etc.
Other than seeing how pleased all that had built a MechMate were the helpful attitude on the forum and the vast amount of knowledge available is the thing that sold me on a MechMate.
I have had the good fortune of meeting Jim (MechMate #104) who has kindly offered his assistance. If I end up with a MechMate half as nice as Jim’s I’ll be overjoyed. It is a beautiful machine.
Jim on the other hand is not so fortunate. When Jim said that a good straight edge would come in handy and I told him in my world that would be a 2x4…he cringed. I can only hope he realized I was joking. I do hope Jim survives this build; he seems to be such a nice guy.
Anyway, here’s to building something far and away more precise and complicated than anything I’ve ever tackled. I’m retired so at least time won’t be an issue.
John
Old Tue 22 April 2014, 08:26
smreish
Just call me: Sean - #5, 28, 58 and others

Orlando, Florida
United States of America
Things to consider for your build

John,