MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Thu 26 May 2011, 15:17
MnkyNthMddl
Just call me: Mnky

League City Texas
United States of America
Figuring Out the Electronics! Texas

First of all, let me congratulate Gerald and Mike on a first rate forum. The achievements of developing and maintaining a useable knowledge base, a sense of community and ownership while demonstrating a desire to ensure quality in both the experience of building a first rate machine, and personal growth in each builder are apparent and is something that should be acknowledged.

My name is Kelly and I’ve been prowling this forum almost daily for longer than I can remember. Being a mechanical designer by profession, I have really enjoyed reading through the volumes of information, making numerous decisions (and revising just as many); I have watched many of the builders have a hand in developing ideas and solutions. And like many others, I have on several occasions said to myself, “This is what I am building…………….today.” Then tomorrow would come along with some new bit of information or a new concept and I would find myself revising my entire plan.

Finally, after determining an ever present theme in each of my formats, it was apparent to me that the biggest obstacle in my path to beginning my build was…………….me. So, setting myself aside (if that’s even possible) I made a few basic choices and just started the journey. The path may not always be known but the destination is constant.

So with all the rambling done, the one definite thing I have decided is that I am building a MechMate that will accommodate 49x97 material. A few of the variables I have made decisions on (today) are that it will use a belt reduction system and Keling motors (KL34H280-45-8A) along with G203V drivers, a PMDX-122 BOB and proximity sensors.