MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > Introduce yourself and start planning
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Fri 27 August 2010, 23:11
DTGuitars
Just call me: David

Rogersville
United States of America
Complete Newbeeeeeee

Hey guys, I have been thinking of taking the plunge into building a CNC Router for some time. For a business, I build high end custom acoustic guitars, and can see the benefit of having some automation from a CNC machine to carve my necks, bridges, headblocks, forms...and just about anything else I can think of.

I have invested a good amount of time thinking of what I needin a CNC Router, and have looked at so many plans that everything is just a blur. I would love to get some advice on where to start. I know the cutting area I need will be 24"X36" with a 6" Z axis. Can the MechMate plans be easily modified to meet this size machine.

I know there will be many questions once I finally get started on this project, and I am looking forward to any help or advice you guys can give.

Thanks,
David

Last edited by Gerald D; Sat 28 August 2010 at 00:02.. Reason: Removed sig line with link
Old Sat 28 August 2010, 04:07
sailfl
Just call me: Nils #12

Winter Park, FL
United States of America
David,

The size of your table and the height of your Z is a perfect place to start. You have that decided so I would suggest you download the plans and print them all out. They will fill a large 3 ring notebook.

Look over the plans and become familar with them. As you spend time doing that pick a couple completed builds and start reading the thread from the start to finish. Read the current threads that interest you.

You will have to decided what motors you want to use, geared motors or regular motors with reduction drive by belt.

Spindle or router.