MechMate CNC Router Forum

Go Back   MechMate CNC Router Forum > Personal Build Histories > MechMates already cutting
Register Options Profile Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old Tue 19 August 2014, 23:40
Duds
Just call me: Dale

Canberra
Australia
Smile Dale's MechMate - Canberra, Australia

Hi all,

I have just purchased my plans and placed an order for laser cut parts and am now building my BOM and preparing for my build.

About me: I'm an electrician with a lot of industrial electrical controls and instrumentation experience. Mostly using Allen Bradley PLC 5 and a little bit of SLC500 and Micrologix. Also a little bit of Siemens S7 and every kind of sensor you have ever heard of. I have played around with 6 axis robots in spot welding and assembly on a production line too. I also have done a bit of project management and operations management. Now I have my own commercial and industrial electrical and maintenance business.

I can definitely contribute with controls advice. But from my reading of the forum you guys seem to have sorted out most all of the details. By the way the drawings are excellent the helpful notes are amazing. "This sub assembly is best welded while upside down on a flat bench." I was not expecting that kind of detail. I am very impressed well done Gerald!

I have decided that my bed will be sized to work 2400 x 1220mm materials. I did consider sizing for 3050 x 1220mm but I think it will be rare that I use the longer stock and if I do ever get the longer stock for some strange reason I figure that I can quadrant my cuts and hang the material over the end. Please comment if you think this is not the case.

I want to do this project for a number of reasons:
1. Because I can. I enjoy making things.
2. I want to use the CNC router to build a lapstrake plywood double ended yawl, the Caledonia Yawl by Iain Oughtred. I have the plans gathering dust.