MechMate CNC Router Forum

MechMate CNC Router Forum (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/index.php)
-   MechMates already cutting (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=78)
-   -   Time for an Upgrade! #79 - Calgary Canada (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1233)

HomeMadeCnc Thu 25 December 2008 18:47

Time for an Upgrade! #79 - Calgary Canada
 
2 Attachment(s)
Hello All,
Happy Hollidays all. Today I started my Mechmate project! Its a 5 x 10 4 axis model. My first build took months to complete and minutes to cut appart but in a 24 x 24 shop I needed the space. I gave up with time lines so it will be finnished whenever it happens. So far I have a 90rv pds colombo spindle (3 phase 5hp 280v)and a Sherline rotary table with chuck for the 4th axis. All other components are what Gerald recommends. Thanks Gerald for the plans. It sure makes life easier with a group behind you to help with ideas and pictures. I will update as time allows. Also thanks to Heath for the group buy on laser cut parts.

Take care all,
Tim

HomeMadeCnc Thu 25 December 2008 23:39

2 Attachment(s)
A few more parts.

domino11 Fri 26 December 2008 09:14

Tim,
Looking good. Will be nice to see some of my parts being built up! :)

MetalHead Fri 26 December 2008 10:22

Index Head
 
What is the part number of that Index head? Where did you get it? and how big is it?

sailfl Fri 26 December 2008 11:01

Welcome and update on the indexer would be nice.

What is that white stuff on your Jeep? I am wearing a T-Shirt outside!!!!:D

HomeMadeCnc Fri 26 December 2008 17:50

Hello All,
www.sherline.com is were I found the rotary table and chuck. Its smaller than what I had wanted but the price was right and its good quality. It should be a fun addition plus there will be a plasma torch quick mount (taken off the old machine) as well. Heath I'm going to wait untill the table is done before I play with the laser cut parts even if it kills me. The control box is half done now (pics to follow tomorrow) and I'm still waiting on the racks and v bearings. I'm told tomorrow will be a balmy -5c almost tshirt weather but its always warm and sunny inside the shop!

Will update later
Tim

domino11 Fri 26 December 2008 19:10

Nils, stop teasing. :) Like Tim said, up here in Canada anything above 0C (or 32F for you US guys) is almost Tshirt weather here.

sailfl Fri 26 December 2008 19:25

Warm enough for a swim?

HomeMadeCnc Fri 26 December 2008 20:19

Nothing better than sitting outside in a snow storm in the hot tub!:D

domino11 Fri 26 December 2008 20:19

Nils,
Actually there are quite a few clubs that call themselves "Polar Bears" and they delight in going for a swim (a quick one at that) on new years day or some other day in Jan or Feb. They cut a hole in the ice and away they go. Not for me though. Maybe if I came to visit you I would go for a swim in Florida. :)

HomeMadeCnc Sun 25 January 2009 18:49

1 Attachment(s)
A quick mock up! Still allot of work to go before assembly but its a start.

Tim

Gerald D Sun 25 January 2009 22:40

Tim, is that spindle in your pic for ATC (automatic tool change)?

HomeMadeCnc Sun 25 January 2009 23:39

Yes it is.

kanankeban Sun 25 January 2009 23:43

Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeMadeCnc View Post
Yes it is.
Hi Tim,
Where did you got it? and can you comment your ideas on the tool change, are you incorporateing it to the table?

HomeMadeCnc Sun 25 January 2009 23:57

Its a PDS Columbo RV90. I phoned direct to the company via their website. As for the tool holders, there your standard "Fork" style. They will be mounted in a rack at the end of the table with the index table setup.

sailfl Mon 26 January 2009 03:40

Tim,

More pictures on the tool changer. You will be the first tool changer on here.

jeffa Mon 26 January 2009 08:12

Tim,

This is very interesting. We are also looking at the PDS Colombo RV 90/22 spindle for the ATC feature. We are curious which VFD you will be using? We do not have three-phase power in our shop, so we will need to use the 10 HP Delta 10/230B VFD to input single-phase 240 VAC and output three-phase power to the RV 90/22 5 HP spindle.

Thanks,

Jeff

kanankeban Tue 27 January 2009 03:06

Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeMadeCnc View Post
Its a PDS Columbo RV90. I phoned direct to the company via their website. As for the tool holders, there your standard "Fork" style. They will be mounted in a rack at the end of the table with the index table setup.
Im looking forward to incorporate same spindle...as for the tool holders and rack where are you getting them from?
Thanks for the info...
Hector

vishnu Tue 27 January 2009 12:13

Hi Tim,
How much did the spindle & Vfd cost you, looking forward for your detailed info

Vishnu

domino11 Tue 27 January 2009 20:37

Vishnu,
Last time I talked with Tim, I think the spindle cost him a truck! ;):eek:

HomeMadeCnc Wed 28 January 2009 18:08

1 Attachment(s)
Hello All,
I'm way behind in posting so there will be a few today. To give a little bit of background, this was my first machine. It was modded all the time then I tripped of this website and the rest is future postings.
Tim

HomeMadeCnc Wed 28 January 2009 19:41

3 Attachment(s)
This was the updated control system for the first machine. It will be modded for this one. Its a $50 p3 computer with a Antek power supply. The control system is a breakout board with individual controllers that will have Gecko 203v's on them.

HomeMadeCnc Wed 28 January 2009 20:03

6 Attachment(s)
I have a abrasive wheel cut off saw. I have had many over the years and have been disappointed many times with cut quality. Well I saw a Carbide tipped metal chop saw on tv for $400 and that gave me the idea. I picked up a 8" metal cutting blade at the local hardware store $75. I found my first chopsaw that was on its last legs put the saw blade in it and these are the photos. Its a very easy, smooth cutting. Not allot of sparks but allot of hot metal chips flying around. I'm working on a jig to cut the rails using my circular saw. I'll post the picks when time permits.

smreish Wed 28 January 2009 20:40

Just be careful of the blade and saw marriage. The blade you are using is designed for a very specific 5000 RPM and a saw designed to recover those "flying chips". You might want to check the RPM of that chop saw. I have a similar set up, but for those watching from the seats should be aware of the RPM's and hazards. I don't want to be an alarmist, just caution.

HomeMadeCnc Wed 28 January 2009 20:59

2 Attachment(s)
For the VFD I picked up the Delta VFD075B23A
(Input: 200-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 3-phase, 34 A
Output: 33 A (continuous), 0.1-400 Hz, 10 HP). I told Todd what I needed and what I had to use and he put together a package. It wasn't cheap.
The tool changer. . . . . :confused:. . . .O.K. I have a basic idea of what I want but I'll hangout at cnczone or mach3 forum and see whats better. The more I look around the more Idea's I get. I'll start to think about it more as the time gets closer, but for now I'll concentrate on just getting it running for now. For dust collection I built the cyclone system that was online. All the parts were cut out on the old machine.
I guess I'm up to date for now. Just finishing up welding the legs. I'm hoping on assembly of the table on Friday.

Tim

HomeMadeCnc Wed 28 January 2009 21:05

Quite correct Sean, Its a death machine. Its 2k over what the blade is rated for, but I just can't stop using it. I looked around the shop to see what else could kill you, I think I'll just add it to the list.
Thanks for the heads up.

J.R. Hatcher Thu 29 January 2009 07:55

You might inquire about a router speed control ($25) to put on that saw .... not sure if it will work or not. The one that plugs into the wall and the tool plugs into it. I think it needs to be a brush type motor, my chop saw is.

HomeMadeCnc Sat 31 January 2009 13:53

1 Attachment(s)
Its a little bit further along. Spreader bars to be completed tomorrow.
Tim

HomeMadeCnc Sat 31 January 2009 16:16

1 Attachment(s)
I'll have to move this over a bit more but I think it will work well here. The last bed rail will have to move too I think. Any other opinions/thoughts/ideas on this 4th axis?

Gerald D Sat 31 January 2009 19:16

Mounting 4th axis rotating indexers or lathes under the gantry


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.