MechMate CNC Router Forum

MechMate CNC Router Forum (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/index.php)
-   Introduce yourself and start planning (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=88)
-   -   A new build in the Netherlands (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8771)

markvanderraad1 Thu 07 April 2022 04:31

A new build in the Netherlands

Hello everyone!

I am Mark from the Netherlands. I’ve been lurking on this forum for a long time. Now it’s finally time for me to start building. Not the best planning to be honest because as you all probably are aware, the prices of materials are trough the roof at the moment. But nevertheless it’s been a dream of mine to have a full sheet cnc for a long time so now it’s happening!

I have some prior cnc experience as I build a Cnc plasma cutter a couple of years ago. Building 3d printers has kept me busy on and off over the last few years.

The plan is to build a Mechmate that handles full sheets of 1530x3100mm. Although it will not be as precise as laser cutting, I want to cut the metal parts on my plasma cutter and bend them on my pressbrake. Holes will be drilled manually because the plasma cutter isn’t very good at making round holes 😄.
Here’s what else I’d like to use:
- 4.5kW air cooled ATC spindle (import)
- EdingCNC control. (It’s also on the plasma table and has served me well)
- still in doubt on (closed loop) steppers vs servos. Any thoughts?
- future additions may be a vacuum table and an automatic tool changer.

As of now, I’ve started building the frame and I’ve made the skate to grind the rails. Pictures will follow soon!

Kind regards, Mark

bachaabdelkabir Tue 12 April 2022 05:58

good luck with your build

rischoof Tue 12 April 2022 11:20

Hello Mark