MechMate CNC Router Forum

MechMate CNC Router Forum (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Show Room (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=86)
-   -   Rock Band Pedal (http://www.mechmate.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2454)

Roadkill_321 Tue 12 January 2010 23:28

Rock Band Pedal

2 Attachment(s)
A little project for fun. The kick pedal on my Rock Band video game broke so I decided to try to make a new one from aluminum.

I've never tried milling aluminum before so I thought it would be fun.

It probably would have been more cost efficient to buy diamondplate but I decided to make my own.

Here is the result.

John

Attachment 8140

Attachment 8141

domino11 Tue 12 January 2010 23:46

John, that looks First Rate. Any details on how you did the cut file and machining?

Jayson Tue 12 January 2010 23:46

Well done. It looks great.

rayditutto Tue 12 January 2010 23:54

nice work!

details on the parameters?

btw, you don't use that barefoot eh?
those diamonds look rather sharp & pointy

sailfl Wed 13 January 2010 03:11

John,

That looks great. You could have engraved the bands name into the pedal...........Rock On....

KenC Wed 13 January 2010 06:02

What a beauty! Love it!

Castone Wed 13 January 2010 06:37

Thats a great looking job.

Roadkill_321 Wed 13 January 2010 07:18

Thanks, I used a 1/8" double flute upcut wood routing bit at .03125 per pass. The router was turned down as slow as it will go and the feedrate was set at 20 IPM.
I think those settings are fairly conservative, but I didn't want to break a bit.

The pedal will grip your socks quite well. :)

John

sailfl Wed 13 January 2010 07:30

John,

There has been promoted that the router speed should be slower to cut metal. I think you will find that you want a faster router speed when you are cutting metal. I am not an expert but the faster router speed helps remove the metal chips and helps keep the bit cooler.

bradm Wed 13 January 2010 10:40